WEA Trust | Press Room | News Releases | News, Articles, Archives

Press Room

WEA Trust Awards Juda Physics Class $2,500

February 21, 2014            
For Immediate Release
Telephone: Steve Lyons
(608) 258-7131

MADISON, Wisconsin – As part of its inaugural Forward Together Award, the WEA Trust awarded the School District of Juda a $2,500 grant to support its student-led project promoting green energy alternatives. 

“The students can actually see their hard work paying off now. Success is real for them,” said Juda High School Physics teacher Scott Anderson about his class receiving the Forward Together Award. “We have the plans in place, and the $2,500 is moving us forward.”

The 2013-14 Juda High School Physics class plans to reduce the school’s carbon footprint through the use of solar panel and wind turbine technology. By installing 12 solar panels, the Physics class will bring Juda’s total green power production to 10 percent of the power required to run the school. The project also extends beyond Juda’s boundaries—the students created educational materials to present at the State Education Convention that will help other schools transition to green energy practices.

The WEA Trust created the Forward Together Award to reward innovation in Wisconsin education and to complement the theme of the 2014 State Education Convention, “Forward Together.” Throughout January, teachers and administrators from around the state nominated school projects that demonstrated drive, vision, and passion. The Trust received over 150 submissions, which were reviewed by a panel of judges including:

Julie Underwood – Dean of the UW-Madison School of Education
Michael Thompson – Deputy State Superintendent, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
Woody Wiedenhoeft – Executive Director of the Wisconsin Association of School Business Officials

Juda’s green energy project was one of three Forward Together Award winners chosen by the selection committee. The other winners include Verona Area School District and the Southern Door County School District for their literacy-based projects.